Lecture: The SKA - When & where will it be built, its energy needs & how the protection of the SKA works

The Square Kilometre Array (SKA) is a multi-national project to design and construction the largest radio telescope in history. It will push global scientific and technological boundaries as it becomes one of the most advanced scientific facilities in the world. South Africa, together with eight African partner countries, recently was awarded the right to host a majority of the SKA.

This talk will look at the overall SKA project, and South Africa’s spearheading of much of the international research and development effort. It will also consider the significant energy requirements of the SKA and how the protection requirements of radio astronomy resulted in the establishment of a sophisticated protection mechanism in South Africa.

The evet will take place at the following venue: Engen Petroleum Ltd Conference Centre, Ground Floor, Engen Court, Thibault Square, Corner of Riebeeck and Long Street, CAPE TOWN

Key Speakers

Presented by Dr Bernard Fanaroff, Project Director of the South African Square Kilometre Array Telescope Project.

Non-executive director of Eskom Holdings Ltd

Visiting Professor in Physics at Oxford University

Board of the South African National Biodiversity Institute

BSc Hons in Physics (University of the Witwatersrand)

PhD in Radio Astronomy (Cambridge University)

LLD (Honoris Causa) (Rhodes University), D Phil (Honoris Causa) ( University of the Western Cape), D Ing (Honoris Causa) ( University of Stellenbosch)

In 1994 he was appointed Deputy Director General in the Office of President N R Mandela and the Head of the Office for the Reconstruction and Development Programme and was later the Adviser to the Minister for Safety and Security, Chairman of the Integrated Justice System Board and Chairman of the Inter-Departmental Steering Committee for Border Control. He was for seventeen years National Organiser and National Secretary of the Metal and Allied Workers Union and the National Union of Metalworkers of South Africa and was a member of the COSATU Central Executive Committee.