Cameroon Member Committee

The Cameroon National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Cameroon, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Cameroonian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Cameroon are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Basile Atangana Kouna


Honourable Dr Basil Atangana Kouna is the Minister of Water and Energy of the Republic of Cameroon. He entered the Public Service in 1986 and has previously been a lecturer at the University of Yaound, Head of Department, Head of Research and Director of Administration Affairs in the service of the Prime Minister, Provisional Administrator of SNEC and Director General of CAMWATER. Dr Kouna is a Member of the CPDM Central Committee, where over the years he held several positions, providing solid political support. From 2002 to 2007, he was appointed Senior Advisor and Deputy City Mayor of Ngoumou, Cameroon. His service to the country has been recognised by numerous honours including Knight of the National Order of Valour, Officer of the National Order of Valour, and Commander of the National Order of Valour. He is also a member of the Legal Committee of the Cameroon Football Federation. He holds a bachelor degree in Law from University of Yaounde, a master's and PhD in Political Science from University of Paris II. He further went on to obtain a master's from International Institute of Public Administration in Paris in 1992.