Slovakia Member Committee

The Slovakia National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Slovakia, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Slovakian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Slovakia are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Frantisek Janicek


František Janíček joined the World Energy Council in 1992 as a Member of the Slovakian National Committee. In 2009, he assumed the role of Chair of the Slovak WEC Committee and has been in this role ever since. He is also a member of the working group responsible for development of the National Energy Policy of Slovakia. Until 2011, Professor Janíček was Vice-Rector of the Slovak University of Technology. Prioir to this, between 2000-2007, Professor Janíček held the post of Dean of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering. František Janíček graduated in 1979 with a degree in Nuclear Energy Engineering from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava. He was inaugurated as Professor in 1999.

Secretary: Miroslav Kucera


In addition to his role of Secretary of the Slovak WEC Committee, Miroslav Kucera is an active member of several committees and working groups operating in the sector of Power Engineering such as the Association of Energy Managers in Slovakia and the Association of Industrial Energy Consumers. Miroslav Kucera graduated in 1972 at Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava with a degree in Electrical Power Generation and Transmission. He later complemented his studies at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in the department of Industrial Power Engineering. At present, Miroslav Kucera is Energy Expert Advisor and Energy Auditor.