

World Energy Council

62–64 Cornhill London EC3V 3NH United Kingdom

T (+44) 20 7734 5996 F (+44) 20 7734 5926 info@worldenergy.org www.worldenergy.org @WECouncil

16 April 2018

Dear Member Committee Chairs and Secretaries,

On behalf of the Nominations Committee, I am seeking your nominations for the following officer positions, which will be elected at the 2018 Executive Assembly. A document describing the role of each officer position is attached for your information.

The five officer positions to be filled at this year's Executive Assembly are:

- <u>Chair-elect, Studies Committee</u> Jean-Marie Dauger will become WEC Chair at the 2019 Congress and therefore, a new Chair of Studies must be elected to replace him. The person elected will serve one year as Chair-elect, Studies, and will then be seated officially as Chair of Studies at the 2019 EA to serve a three-year term, 2019-2022.
- <u>Chair-elect, Communications and Strategy Committee</u> Jose Antonio Vargas Lleras will have served one three-year term, 2016-2019, as Chair of the Communications and Strategy Committee. He is therefore eligible for re-election. The person elected will serve one year as Chair-elect, Communications and Strategy Committee, and will then be seated officially as Chair at the 2019 EA to serve a three-year term, 2019-2022.
- Chair-elect, Programme Committee Jose da Costa Carvalho Neto will have served two three-year terms: 2013-2016 and 2016-2019, as Chair of the Programme Committee. He is therefore not eligible for re-election. A new nominee for the position of Chair-elect, Programme Committee, must be elected. Again, that person will serve as Chair-elect, Programme Committee, for one year and will then be seated officially as Chair at the 2019 EA to serve a three-year term, 2019-2022.
- Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for Middle East/Gulf States Dr Ibrahim al-Muhanna was elected to succeed Dr Matar al Neyadi, who served one year (2015-2016) of his three-year term (2015-2018) as Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for Middle East/Gulf States before moving to the position of Vice Chair, 2019 Congress. The position of Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for the Middle East and Gulf States, will officially become vacant at the 2018 Executive Assembly. Since Dr Muhanna has only served part of one term, he is eligible for reelection for a full three-year term, 2018-2021.

TRUSTEES
YOUNGHOON DAVID KIM
Chair

JEAN-MARIE DAUGER Co-chair

IBRAHIM AL-MUHANNA Vice Chair – Special Responsibility for Gulf States/Middle East

NUR BEKRI Vice Chair – Asia KLAUS-DIETER BARBKNECHT Vice Chair – Finance

LEONHARD BIRNBAUM Vice Chair – Europe

OLEG BUDARGIN
Vice Chair – Responsibility
for Regional Development

JOSÉ DA COSTA CARVALHO NETO Chair – Programme Committee JOSE ANTONIO VARGAS LLERAS Chair – Communications

& Strategy Committee

MATAR AL NEYADI

Vice Chair —

2019 Congress, Abu Dhabi

ELHAM MAHMOUD IBRAHIM

Vice Chair – Africa

ROBERT HANF Vice Chair – North America

JEAN-MARIE DAUGER
Chair – Studies Committee
CLAUDIA CRONENBOLD
Vice Chair –

Latin America/Caribbean
SHIGERU MURAKI

SHIGERU MURAKI Asia Pacific/South Asia CHRISTOPH FREI Secretary General

World Energy Council, Company Limited by Guarantee Registered in England and Wales No. 4184478 VAT Reg. No. GB 123 3802 48 Registered Office: 62–64 Cornhill London EC3V 3NH Charity No. 1086559



• <u>Vice Chair, Europe</u> – Dr Leonhard Birnbaum will have served two full terms (2013-2016 and 2016-2019) as Vice Chair, Europe, and is therefore not eligible for re-election. The person elected as Vice Chair, Europe, will serve a three-year term, 2018-2021.

Please also note that each officer nominee will be asked, once selected, to provide a 250-300-word statement outlining how they would support the Board and the Council if elected and what they believe they would bring to the role.

Please submit nominations for the above officer positions to the Chief Operating Officer Tania Baumann (baumann@worldenergy.org) using this online-form.

All nominations must be received by no later than **Friday, 25 May 2018**. A current CV must accompany all nominations. The nominations of women are warmly welcomed and encouraged.

Please contact Tania Baumann if you have questions.

Yours Sincerely,

Younghoon David Kim

Chairman, World Energy Council