World Energy Council 2016 Executive Assembly gets off to a flying start ahead of 23rd World Energy Congress

Posted on 31 October 2016

img_9563More than 40 member committees and a number of delegates convened at the second World Energy Council 2016 Executive Assembly in Istanbul to discuss key global topics and regional energy issues impacting the energy sector.

This year’s event took place directly ahead of the 23rd World Energy Congress between 7 and 9 October with the entire energy spectrum in attendance who met to discuss critical issues facing the energy industry during a series of events.

The Assembly also resulted in principal governance decisions being taken for the Council’s member community with comprehensive discussions taking place during Committee meetings. A number of resolutions were approved, including the location of the Council’s 2018 Executive Assembly in Milan, Italy in 2018, as well as details of forthcoming Programme Committee Chair, Studies Committee Chair and the Communications and Strategy Committee Chair reports, and the appointment of new officers.

A special presentation and invitation was given by the Portuguese member committee to attend the 2017 Executive Assembly in Lisbon. Delegates were then treated to a special presentation and invitation given by members of the United Arab Emirates organising committee to attend the 24th World Energy Congress in the Abu Dhabi in 2019.

A representative of the organising committee said: “We are fully committed to holding a congress that fulfils the needs of the energy sector. We welcome comments and all feedback from, officers all member committees as well as taking into account lesson learnt not only from the 23rd World Energy Congress, and previous ones held in Korea and Montreal.”

The main plenary commenced with opening remarks from retiring Chair Marie-Jose Nadeau, who warmly welcomed special guests and representatives from international organisations, which was followed by a welcome to new member committees Malaysia, Mongolia and Singapore from the Council’s Secretary General, Christoph Frei.

Speeches were then given by Hasan Murat Mercan, Chair of the World Energy Congress organising committee; Younghoon David Kim who was introduced as the new World Energy Council; newly approved Co-chair Jean-Marie Dauger, as well as outgoing Chair, Mrs Nadeau who reflected on her time as Chair over the last three years.

 Mr Mercan noted: “I would like to thank the organising committee as well as the London teams under the leadership of Christoph Frei for all of their hard work in putting an outstanding programme for the Congress together. We have accomplished the dream of holding a presidential style summit, with four heads of state attending the Congress on day one”

Mrs Nadeau commented: “The Council is in a much better position than it was 20 years ago. I would like to thank the Secretary General, fellow officers, to their commitment to growth and diversity. We now have 2 Women on the board and the number of female Future Energy leaders has increased from 20 per cent to 30 per cent in the last 3 years, but there is still work to do. We have to increase our efforts to invite new young members from diverse backgrounds as well as former members.”

 Chairman Kim said: “I look forward to serving you for the next three years. I hope to meet many of you as I travel around the world for the World Energy Council.”

Mr Dauger commented: “During my career I have had a lot of experience working with a lot of international organisations. I am confident that my fellow officers and I will form a very effective group. It is important that we understand our roles and our impact on the Council and wider teams.”

Also approved during the plenary was the proposed amendments to World Energy Council Rules to allow Standing Committee members with a particular expertise or experience to serve up to three terms on an exceptional basis, upon the recommendation of the relevant Standing Committee Chair and the Nominations Committee.

The slate of nominees for the Council Standing Committees were approved and are as follows:

  • The election of Shigeru Muraki as Vice Chair, Asia Pacific and South Asia, as previously approved in an email vote of the members; Mr Muraki to complete the unexpired term of Arup Roy Choudhury, who resigned in late 2015 was confirmed.
  • The election of the following new officers for three-year terms, 2016-2019:
  • Ibrahim Al-Muhanna (Saudi Arabia) as Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for Middle East/Gulf States
  • Oleg Budargin (Russian Federation) as Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for Regional Development
  • Elham Mahmoud Ibrahim (Egypt) for a three-year term, 2016-2019, as Vice Chair, Africa
  • Robert Hanf (Canada) for a three-year term, 2016-2019, as Vice Chair, North America
  • Claudia Cronenbold (Bolivia) as Vice Chair, Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Jean-Marie Dauger (France) as Chair, Studies Committee
  • José da Costa Carvalho Neto (Brazil), re-elected as Chair, Programme Committee
  • José Antonio Vargas Lleras (Colombia) as Chair, Communications and Strategy Committee
  • The election of  the following as new Honorary Officers:
  • Brian Statham, retiring Chair of Studies
  • Dean Oskvig, retiring Vice Chair, North America
  • Hasan Murat Mercan, retiring Vice Chair, Congress
  • Bonang Mohale, retiring Vice Chair, Africa
  • Marie-José Nadeau, retiring Chair, World Energy Council (elected as Honorary Chair)