Cyprus Member Committee

The Cyprus National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Cyprus, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Cypriot perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Cyprus are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Constantinos Xichilos

Mr Constantinos Xichilos has over 34 years of experience in the Energy Service of the Ministry of Commerce Industry and Tourism. He currently holds the position of Deputy Director of the Energy Service. During his career, Mr Xichilos has been involved in the formulation and implementation of energy conservation programmes for all sectors of the economy (industrial, commercial, residential) and the development of Renewable Energy Sources in Cyprus. He participated in the accession negotiations of Cyprus to the European Union for the Chapter of Energy and coordinated the harmonisation of national legislation with the Acquis Communittaire on Energy issues. Mr Xichlos was also the National Coordinator of Cyprus to the Concerted Action for the energy performance building directive (EPBD) under the Intelligent Energy for Europe programme. Mr Xichlos holds an MSc in Engineering Management from Frederick University, a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from Central London Polytechnic, UK and a Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from the Higher Technical Institute.

Secretary: Julia Costi