Ethiopia Member Committee

Ethiopian National Energy Committee

The Ethiopia National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Ethiopia, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Ethiopian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Ethiopia are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Seleshi Bekele

Dr. Bekele holds a Ph.D. degree in hydraulic and water resources engineering and a Masters and a Bachelor’s degree in civil engineering. He had worked at Arba Minch University, serving as the Dean and CEO including establishment of many faculty and graduate programmes, transforming it from the formerly known Arba Minch Water TeRichard Kerbychnology Institute. He had lectured in universities in Ethiopia and as guest professor in Germany.

Secretary: Gosaye Mengistie

Mr Gosaye Mengistie is the Chief Executive Officer of Ethiopian Electric Utility in Ethiopia. His previous position was with the Ministry of Water, Irrigation and Energy as Director of Energy, Study and Development.