Morocco Member Committee

The Morocco National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Morocco, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Moroccan perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Morocco are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Abderrahim El Hafidi

Mr Abderrahim El Hafidi is currently Secretary General of the Ministry of Energy, Mines, Water and Environment. He is the editor in chief of the new Moroccan energy regulatory framework regarding Renewables energies, power generation, transmission and distribution, natural gas, oil products, nuclear safety, and he currently oversees its implementation. He has spent his entire career at the Ministry in charge of Energy where he held several positions including Director of Electricity and Renewable energy, Head of Natural Gas and fossil fuels Department, head of Renewables Energies and Energy Efficiency Department, Head of energy Infrastructure and Facilities Department. Mr. Abderrahim El Hafidi oversaw several energy projects (Power, Renewables energies, Natural gas, LPG, oil, coal fire…), animated, and represented Morocco in several events and international conferences in the fields of electricity, natural gas, oil and renewables energies. One of his greatest professional achievement is overseeing the implementation of the new Moroccan energy strategy and renewable energy projects.

Secretary: Maya Aherdan