Niger Member Committee

The Niger National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Niger, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Niger national perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Niger are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Boukari Kane
Secretary: Rabiou Hassane Yari

Vice Chairman of the Conseil Nigérien de l’Energie, he was Minister of Mines and Energy from 2002 to 2004. Then CEO of the Société Nigérienne du Charbon de l’Azawak (SNCA-SA) from 2006 to 2011. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Société Nigérienne de Charbon d’Annou Araren (SONICHAR). Previously, he was Director of Energy and Technical Advisor to the Minister. Currently, Administrator at the Mining and Energy Company of Niger (CMEN-SA). Master of Science, Electrical Engineering from the Donetsk Polytechnic Institute (Ukraine) and Graduate Diploma in Business Administration des Hautes Etudes Commerciales (HEC) Montreal (Canada). It is Grand Officer of the Order of Merit of Niger.