Nigerian Member Committee

The Nigeria National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Nigeria, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Nigerian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Nigeria are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Abubakar Sambo

Professor Abubakar Sani Sambo is the former Director-General of the Energy Commission of Nigeria, and was named the Special Adviser to the President of Nigeria on energy in July 2011. Before joining the Council, Professor Sambo was Vice-Chancellor of Kaduna State University and Abubakar Tafawa Belawa University. He has published more than 200 articles in journals, conference proceedings and technical reports. Professor Sambo is the Nigerian Representative at the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA). He is also a fellow of many science organisations, including the Nigerian Academy of Science and the Nigerian Academy of Engineering. He has been awarded the National Productivity Order of Merit (from Nigeria) and the position of Officer of the Order of the Niger. Professor Sambo is Chair of the WEC Nigerian Member Committee. He is also an Honorary Officer for the World Energy Council.

Secretary: Yusuf Abdussalam