Sri Lanka Member Committee

The Sri Lanka National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Sri Lanka, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Sri Lankan perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Sri Lanka are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: B.M.S. Batagoda

Dr Batagoda is a BA Honours (in Geography) Graduate from the University of Sri Jayawardanapura and also holds a PhD in Environmental Science from University of East Anglia, UK, MSc in Natural Resources Management from Michigan State University, USA and an Attorney-at-Law of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka. In addition, he holds a Certificate in Public Administration from the Institute of Development Administration, Sri Lanka. Dr Batagoda is Secretary to the Ministry of Power & Energy, having previously been Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Planning Sri Lanka. In addition, he is a Board member of, SAARC Development Fund, Securities and Exchange of Sri Lanka, Lanka Litro Gas, Lanka Sugar Company, Regional Development Bank, Sri Lanka Carbon Fund, Tea Research Institute, National Science and Technology Commission (NASTEC) and United State-Sri Lanka Fulbright Commission. He was the Director General of the Department of Public Enterprises and National Planning, Ministry of Finance and Planning. He held several senior positions in the Ministry of Public Administration, Ministry of Plantation Industries, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (Director-Climate Change and Global Affairs). Further, he has served as an Assistant Secretary to his Excellency the President of Sri Lanka, Presidential Secretariat. Dr Batagoda has authored several books including State of the Environment in Sri Lanka, The Economic Valuation of Alternative Uses of Mangrove Forests in Sri Lanka and co-authored books including Urban Air Quality Management in Sri Lanka, Theoretical Manual for Environmental Valuation in Sri Lanka and Fiscal Policies on Fuels and Vehicles in Sri Lanka.

Secretary: Kamani Jayasekera