Thai Member Committee

The Thailand National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Thailand, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Thai perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Thailand are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Areepong Bhoocha-Oom

Dr Areepong Bhoocha-oom is the Permanent Secretary of Energy of the Kingdom of Thailand, effective 1st October 2015. Formerly, Dr Areepong Bhoocha-oom was Permanent Secretary of Finance, Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Tourism and Sport, and Secretary General of Office of the Public Sector Development Commission, Office of Prime Minister in 2015.
Dr Areepong Bhoocha-oom graduated in Bachelor’s degree from International Management, Boston University, and Master’s degree in Finance from Marshall University. He also received Doctor of Philosophy degree in Finance from University of Mississippi, United States of America.
Currently, Dr Areepong Bhoocha-oom also serves as the Chairman of Board of Directors, Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand, and the Chairman of Board of Directors, Thai Airways International Public Company Limited. Formerly, he used to be Board of Director of PTT Public Company Limited, The Chairman of Board of Directors, Krung Thai Bank, Board of Director of Bank of Thailand, Board of Director of PTT Global Chemical Public Company Limited, Chairman of Board of Directors, Government Housing Bank, and Chairman of Board of Directors, andtThe Government Lottery Office.

Secretary: Dararut Ritboonyakorn