Uruguay Member Committee

Comité Nacional Uruguayo

The Uruguay National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Uruguay, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Uruguayan perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Uruguay are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Carolina Cosse
Secretary: Olga Otegui

HE Otegui is the Secretary of Energy of the National Energy Directorate, the unit responsible for planning and coordinating the energy policies at the Ministry of Industry, Energy and Mining in Uruguay. Alongside, she is the President of ADME, the administrator of the Electric Market in Uruguay. HE Otegui has over 20 years of work experience at the National Energy Directorate, particularly in the areas of strategic renewable energy policy planning, evaluation of agro-energy projects, development of the Law on Biofuels, and in the implementation of legal instruments for the integration of renewable sources. HE Otegui has specialized in planning, management and energy efficiency.