China Member Committee

The China National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in China, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Chinese perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of China are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Xinxiong Wu


Mr Wu Xinxiong is a native of Jiangyin City, Jiangsu province. He was born in 1949, and joined the CPC in 1979. Wu works as a senior economist. Wu held leading posts in Jiangsu province, where he served as mayor of Jiangyin city and vice-mayor of Wuxi city. He served as a member of the standing committee of the Wuxi City CPC Committee until 1997. Wu was appointed deputy secretary of the Jiangxi Provincial CPC Committee in 2002, and in the following year he was appointed vice-governor of Jiangxi province. Wu Xinxiong was an alternate member of the 16th CPC Central Committee and served as governor of Jiangxi province from 2008 to 2011. He was a member of the 18th CPC Central Committee and he served as Chairman of the State Electricity Regulatory Commission from 2011 to 2013. He is now a member of the 18th CPC Central Committee and in 2013 he became Administrator of the National Energy Administration and Vice-Chair of the National Development and Reform Commission.

Secretary: Shuang Zhang