Greece Member Committee

Hellenic National Committee of WEC

The Greece National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Greece, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Greek perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Greece are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Christos Spirtzis


Christos Spirtzis is President of the Technical Chamber of Greece (TCG). Having trained in electrical and computer engineering, he was first elected into the TCG General Assembly at the age of 28. In 2007, Mr Spirtzis became Vice-President of the TCG Administrative Committee, responsible for energy; development; employment; insurance; licensing; publications; ethics in representation; and the databank. In his energy capacity, Mr Spirtzis has contributed to development of legislation and scientific projects associated with energy conservation and long-term energy strategy. He is also responsible for common action with other sectors and collaborates with the Natural Disasters Observatory. He works in close conjunction with the Ministry of Environment and Urban Development. Mr Spirtzis participates in the effort to modernise urban planning in Greece, developing new regulatory plans, new concepts for development, helping to control bureaucracy and contribute to the overall improvement of citizens’ lives.

Secretary: Kostas Alexopoulos