Indian Member Committee



WEC India aims to be the foremost energy think-tank of the country and the enregy sector. The organisation is truly representative of the Indian energy sector, and contributes to advancing the energy goals of India. Its mission is to facilitate review, research and advocacy of energy technology, policy and strategy; to provide a platform for dialogue within the Indian energy sector; and to collaborate with member committees worldwide to ensure long term sustainable supply and use of energy. WEC-IMC brings together high-level players in the energy sector together to forge a better understanding of energy issues with a view to identifying and implementing sustainable, effective solutions.

Chair: Pradeep Kumar Pujari

Pradeep Kumar Pujari, a 1981 batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre is appointed as Power Secretary replacing Pradeep Kumar Sinha , who is a 1980 batch IAS officer of Assam Meghalaya (AM) cadre. Currently, he is working as Special Secretary and Financial Adviser, Department of Agriculture Research and Education, Ministry of Agriculture.

Secretary: A.K. Jha

Shri A.K. Jha is a graduate in Mechanical Engineering from BIT Sindri, Ranchi University and has a LL.B. from Delhi University. He joined NTPC in 1977 as Executive Trainee. He was directly associated with the NTPC’s flagship Project i.e. Singrauli (5x200 MW) as part of the erection team. He has a rich and varied experience of 38 years in NTPC in all the areas of Power Project i.e. Design & Engineering, Project Planning & Monitoring and Project Construction & Management. He joined NTPC Board in July’2012 as Director (Technical). He is responsible for concept to Investment approval of projects, complete engineering during the development of the project, engineering support during O&M phase of the station and engineering for R&M of NTPC’s aged power stations for enhancing life and efficiency of power plant, for the entire portfolio of NTPC i.e Thermal, Hydro, Renewable. In case of Renewable, he has whole responsibility i.e policy advocacy, business development, Project contracting, Engineering and commissioning. He is also responsible for, R & D through NETRA (NTPC Energy Technology and Research Alliance), induction of environment friendly technologies like Ultra Super Critical/ Advance Ultra super Critical, Information technology initiatives including Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) and Environmental Engineering.