New Zealand Member Committee

BusinessNZ Energy Council


The BusinessNZ Energy Council (the ‘BEC’) is a multi-sectoral group of New Zealand business, government and academic organisations taking on a leading role in creating a sustainable energy future for New Zealand. Since 1 January 2013, the BusinessNZ Energy Council brings together the memberships of BusinessNZ and the former Energy Federation of New Zealand. The BEC shares energy information, represents the views of its members, promotes dialogue and networking for its members, prepares and disseminates reports and organises seminars and conferences. Its goal is to “support New Zealand’s economic well-being through the active promotion of the sustainable development and use of energy, both domestically and globally.”

Chair: David Caygill
Secretary: John Carnegie


John is the Secretary-General of the BusinessNZ Energy Council., New Zealand’s peak energy advocacy body. He is an experienced regulatory economist with over two decade’s experience in public policy and energy markets. John has previously held roles at The New Zealand Treasury, the Ministry for Economic Development, the electricity market operator (the Marketplace Company), and New Zealand’s only coal fired power generator, Genesis Energy. John specialises in energy and climate change policy and its implications for business. He was a member of the Treasury-led Emissions Trading Stationary Energy and Industrial Process Technical Advisory Group, the Ministry for the Environment Electricity Allocation Factor contact group, and a member of the New Zealand official delegation to the last four end of year climate change negotiations. He is also currently a member of the electricity market regulator’s (the Electricity Authority’s) Wholesale Advisory Group and a government appointee to the New Zealand Smart Grid Forum. John has a BA (Hons) degree in Economic History, a BCA in Economics and a Diploma in Accountancy.