Canadian Energy Person of the Year announced

2014 Canadian Energy Person of the Year announced/ Energy Council of Canada (ECC) congratulated the men and women of local utilities for their service

 From left to right: Marie-Jose Nadeau; Colin Andersen; Hon. Bob Chiarelli; David Williams; Anthony Haines; Bob Hamilton; Graham Campbell; Jim Hinds

From left to right: Marie-Jose Nadeau; Colin Andersen; Hon. Bob Chiarelli; David Williams; Anthony Haines; Bob Hamilton; Graham Campbell; Jim Hinds

The Energy Council of Canada (ECC), the WEC’s Canadian national committee, officially named Toronto Hydro CEO Anthony Haines Canadian Energy Person of the Year. The ceremony took place on 6 November 2014 in Toronto, on the eve of the one-year anniversary of the 2013 ice storm.

The event opened with remarks from Ontario’s Minister of Energy, the Honourable Bob Chiarelli, as well as a video message from the Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Kathleen Wynne. Municipal, provincial and federal officials, and other energy sector leaders also participated.

Mr Haines was awarded for his dedicated service as the head of one of Canada’s largest electricity utilities as well as his steadfast leadership during the 2013 ice storm.  The storm saw over three hundred thousand customers being left without power, a series of flight cancellations, and almost an entire shutdown of urban transit systems.

The ECC also celebrated the outstanding efforts and contributions of the men and women at all local electricity utilities who work to provide reliable power every day.

“Safe, reliable electricity underpins our daily lives, our businesses and our economy,” said Colin Andersen, Chair of the ECC and WEC Canada, and also CEO of the Ontario Power Authority. “We depend on it day in and day out and events like the Toronto ice storm remind us just how vital the work of these men and women is.”

Mr Haines was nominated for the Award by Toronto’s City Manager, Joseph Pennachetti, in recognition of his exceptional leadership of the city’s electricity utility, which delivers electricity to approximately 2.5 million people in the City of Toronto.

The Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award, established in 2001, recognises and pays tribute to a Canadian energy leader who has made a significant impact in the field of energy at the national and international level.

A critical characteristic for nominees is that they must demonstrate a strong sense of social responsibility and giving back to the community while also placing focus on environmental and social issues. Mr Haines’ passion for community giving is illustrated in his commitment to the Greater Toronto United Way as Public Sector Chair, his work with several Toronto charities and as a member of the Finance Committee for the Pan Am Games, Toronto 2015.  This forward thinking and innovative spirit inspires other energy leaders to promote the Canadian energy sector and Canada’s role on the world energy stage.

“I am honoured to receive this award and be among its distinguished recipients,” said Haines. “This award is really a testament to the talented and creative senior leaders at Toronto Hydro and, most importantly, the men and women at Toronto Hydro who work hard every day to keep the power on and put our customers first.”

The Sunnybrook Burn Unit was selected by Mr Haines to receive a charitable donation from the Energy Council of Canada in recognition of the annual award.

As the 2014 Canadian Energy Person of the Year, Mr. Haines will serve as an ambassador of Canada’s energy sector, demonstrating a clear vision and commitment to fostering the sustainable use and development of energy for the benefit of all.

For more on the Award see: