Austrian Member Committee

Österreichisches Nationalkomitee des Weltenergierates


The Austrian Member Committee of the World Energy Council represents Austria within the international organisation of the World Energy Council. Members of the Austrian Committee include the Austrian Federation, represented by ministries, universities, and companies of the Austrian energy sector. This membership is defined by the general convention after an application for entry of the candidates.

Chair: Johannes Sereinig

Dr Johann Sereinig is currently the Chair of the Austrian Member Committee of the WEC, and the Vice-Chairman of the Managing Board of VERBUND AG. Dr Sereinig has held many governmental roles in Austria, including Advisor to the Federal Minister of Finance, Adviser to the Federal Chancellor and Head of Cabinet of the Federal Chancellery. His leadership roles include Chairman of the Steering Committee of UCPTE and he has been a member of the board at VERBUND AG since 1994.

Secretary: Robert Kobau

Robert Kobau was appointed Managing Director of the Austrian Member Committee, World Energy Council in 2013. Prior to this, he was Head of Corporate Affairs at VERBUND Innkraftwerke GmbH (2009-2012). Before this, he spent twelve years in the position of Head of Corporate Affairs at VERBUND Hydro Power AG (2000-2012). He spent 30 years in the Corpoorate Affairs department of Österreichische Draukraftwerke AG (1975-2000).