Belgium Member Committee

Comité Belge du CME

The Belgium National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Belgium, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Belgian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Belgium are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: William D'haeseleer

William D’haeseleer is Full Professor in the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium. He teaches courses in the domain of Energy Technology & Management (Thermodynamics, Nuclear Energy, Thermal Systems, Renewable Energy). His research is mainly situated in the areas of Energy Conservation & Energy Management, Energy & Environment, Energy Systems, and Energy Policy. He is Director of the KU Leuven Energy Institute. W. D’haeseleer graduated as Electro-Mechanical Engineer (option Energy; 5y program – “Diplom-Ingenieur”) and MS in Nuclear Science & Engineering from the KU Leuven in 1980 and 1982, respectively. In December 1983, he obtained another MS degree in Electrical Engineering (Plasma Physics) from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (UW-M), USA. He received his Doctoral Degree (PhD) from the UW-M in May 1988. From 1988 till 1993, he resided in Germany, at the Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik in Garching-bei-München, after which he was active in the Belgian engineering consulting company Tractebel Engineering. As of 1996, he holds a full professorship at the KU Leuven. He has been a Fulbright Fellow and is an elected member of the Royal Academy of the Sciences and the Arts of Belgium (KVAB).

Secretary: Bérénice Crabs