Canada Member Committee

Energy Council of Canada


The Energy Council of Canada is a not-for-profit corporation whose membership is made up of private sector energy corporations, energy industry associations, Canadian federal and provincial government departments and agencies, and Crown corporations. The Council provides a forum for action, networking and thinking by energy industry leaders from the private and public sectors. The Council aims to forge an understanding of energy issues, while working to shape the energy sector for the benefit of Canadians. It holds public policy forums, various members’ activities and hosts the Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award. The Energy Council of Canada is a founding member of the World Energy Council (1923), and participates in their activities contributing to a global expert knowledge base of energy information.

Chair: Colin Andersen

Colin Andersen is Chair of the Energy Council of Canada, which was established in 1923 as a founding member of the World Energy Council. The Energy Council of Canada strives to shape an affordable, stable and environmentally sensitive energy sector for the benefit of all Canadians. The Energy Council covers all sectors involved in energy in Canada, and brings together senior executives from industry and government engaged in regional, national, continental and global activities. Mr. Andersen was Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Power Authority (OPA), responsible for ensuring a reliable, sustainable, cost-effective supply of electricity for Ontario. He led the organization in its efforts to coordinate province-wide conservation initiatives, plan the electricity system for the long term and procure clean supply resources. Prior to joining the OPA, Mr. Andersen held a variety of senior financial and policy positions in the Ontario Public Service, including as Deputy Minister of Finance and of Revenue; Secretary of Treasury Board; Chair of the Ontario Financing Authority; and Chair of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation. He also served as Deputy Minister of Policy, Cabinet Office and Acting Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. In these and other senior management positions, Mr. Andersen provided the government with advice and assistance on all aspects of fiscal and financial policy and planning, expenditure management and overall stewardship of Ontario’s financial resources. In addition, he has led strategic asset management initiatives, extensive intergovernmental negotiations at the federal and municipal level and large-scale infrastructure and procurement projects. He has a Masters Degree in Economics from the University of Toronto and a Bachelor of Arts, Honours Economics from the University of Calgary.

Secretary: Graham Campbell

Graham Campbell was appointed President of the Energy Council of Canada on December 16, 2013. After starting in the oil and gas industry with Shell Canada Resources, Graham’s career has progressed through roles in government and regulatory agencies cumulating as Director General, Office of Energy Research and Development, Energy Sector with Natural Resources Canada from 1997 to 2008. Graham’s earlier experience includes the National Energy Board, the Canada Oil and Gas Lands Administration, and the federal departments of Energy, Mines and Resources and Indian Northern Affairs.

Following his work at NRCan, Graham undertook policy research at the Conference Board of Canada and he led the Carleton University Sustainable Energy Research Centre as the Centre’s Executive Director. In the area of international energy collaboration, he has served as the chair of the International Energy Agency’s senior technology committee, and he co-chaired the International Partnership for the Hydrogen Economy. Graham has a broad perspective on energy issues based on his work in a range of energy sector organizations engaged in exploration, energy regulation, technology development and policy research.