Ecuadorian Member Commitee


The Ecuadorian National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Ecuador, as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Ecuadorian perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of Ecuador are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Mauro Intriago

Mr. Mauro Intriago is currently Viceminister of Electricity and Renewable Energy. He is an electrical engineer from “Escuela Politécnica Nacional”, and has studies in logistics, standardized management systems and certifications of quality, environment and social responsibility.
In the professional field, he has been linked to the private sector, especially in the area of services. In his experience, he has positions in the Electric Company of Ecuador (EMELEC) where he worked as a distribution engineer. In the international field, he worked in DHL International - Ecuador, having responsibilities in the western area of Latin America. He has been an advisor, auditor and consultant in business matters, especially in the electricity area in institutions such as CELEC EP - Hidronación, Electroquil, INPROEL, and Electrical Construction companies.

Secretary: Hernan Verdugo