Estonian Member Committee

Maailma Energeetikanõukogu Eesti Rahvuskomitee


Estonia has been a member of WEC since 1937. Estonia was then represented by the National Power Committee, led by Director J. Veerus and Professor P. Kogerman. In 1998, the 17th World Energy Congress in Houston formally reinstated Estonia’s membership of WEC. The Estonian Member Committee of the World Energy Council was founded on 16 July 2003 by the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications, Estonian Academy of Sciences, Estonian Power and Heat Association, Tallinn Technical University, Eesti Energia AS and AS Eesti Gaas.

Chair: Margus Vals

Mr Vals has been working in the energy sector since 2002 when he joined the Financial Service team at Eesti Energia. He was shorty promoted to head this team and has continued his career at Eesti Energia since then, working as Energy Trade Director and Strategy Director. Today Mr Vals is the Member of Management Board of Eesti Energia. His responsibilities involve projects, technology and new business.
Mr Vals has a bachelor’s degree from Tallinn University of Technology and a master’s degree from London Business School. He has advanced his training in strategy and organisation at Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Secretary: Mihkel Härm

Mr Mihkel Härm serves as the Secretary General of WEC Estonia and as the Advisor to the CEO of Enefit. Mr Härm has been active in the energy field since graduating from Tallinn University of Technology where he specialised in Power Engineering and Energy Trading. Mr Härm has a Master’s degree from Tallinn University of Technology and from Estonian Business School where he specialized in Business Administration. Mr Härm has been involved in a number of start-up companies and has worked in energy trading for Enefit.