Namibian Member Committee

The Namibian WEC Committee aims to provide electricity for its people, through optimum and unbiased ranking of energy resources in Namibia (including solar and nuclear resources), increasing generation capacity, and expansion of transmission and distribution networks. It faces the challenges of rising generating costs in Namibia and other countries, and aims to work with organisations such as the Southern African Power Pool (SAPP) and the African Forum for Utility Regulators (AFUR) to spread the WEC’s influence and knowledge and help to guide energy progress in Namibia and Southern Africa.

Chair: Foibe Louise Namene

Ms. Namene served the Namibian electricity utility company, NamPower, in various senior management positions since 1996 until her deployment as Chief Executive Officer of the Electricity Control Board (ECB) in June 2014. Ms. Namene is an Admitted Attorney with the Namibian High Court and served in the Ministry of Justice before joining NamPower. She obtained a LLM in Economic Law from the University of Namibia and is PhD candidate in the same institution.

Amongst her responsibilities as Chief Executive Officer of the ECB is to regulate the supply of safe, reliable and affordable electricity to small and large Namibian consumers. The ECB is also responsible for creating an enabling investment environment in the Namibian electricity supply industry. Its scope of responsibilities is set to change with the addition of oil and gas, should the Namibian Parliament approve the Energy Regulatory Authority Bill.

Secretary: Miryam Thomas

Miryam Thomas holds an MBA in Human Resources Management and Marketing Management from Bangalore University, India and a Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in Business Enterprise. She also holds a Diploma in Business and Personnel Management from London Metroploitan University, UK as well as a National Diploma in Computer Studies from Lambeth College, UK. Currently Ms Thomas is the Chief Control Officer at the Directorate of Energy-Ministry of Mines and Energy, responsible for all administrative and financial matters for the Directorate. She has been the Secretary General for the Namibian Member Committee since the re-establishment of the committee in 2010. She is also Secretary for the Electricity Steering Committee at the Ministry, a body that deals with energy affairs in Namibia and is attended by CEO’s and MD’s. Since 2008, she has been a part-time lecturer in the department of Business and Management at the Polytechnic of Namibia. During her tenure as Secretary General, she has organized a series of successful national meetings in Namibia.