South Africa Member Committee

South African National Energy Association


SANEA is the South African member committee of the World Energy Council. It was formed in 1923 and was a founder member of WEC. Registered as a not-for-profit company, SANEA is governed by an independent Board elected by SANEA members.  SANEA members come from the governmental, mining, industrial, commercial, financial, legal and academic sectors and also include individual citizens. SANEA strives to promote greater understanding of energy matters in all levels of society and it achieves this through conferences, lectures, articles, strategic briefings, media interviews and committee work. Its vision is “Energy People Working Together”.

Chair: Brian Statham

Brian Statham is Chairman of the Studies Committee and a member of the WEC Communications, Finance, Programme and Remuneration Committees. He is also the Chairman of the South African National Energy Association. Mr Statham chaired the 2007 WEC Global Study on “Energy Policy Scenarios to 2050" and has served on a number of governmental task forces and committees dealing with energy matters. Mr Statham has some 36 years of experience in energy and has been involved in construction (coal, hydro and nuclear), operations, research, production planning, investment planning, project development (coal, hydro, LNG, natural gas, nuclear) and strategic planning, predominantly in the area of power generation. Recently Brian founded ‘Brian Statham and Associates’.

Secretary: Dave Wright

Dave Wright is the Director of Corporate Planning for Engen Petroleum Ltd which is a refining and marketing oil business that holds the major market share in South Africa and is growing into sub Saharan Africa. Prior to moving into his current position, he held two other General Manager/Director positions in Engen i.e. that of Supply Chain and that of Health, Safety, Environment and Quality. He was trained as a chemical engineer and for the first 15 years of his professional life was an academic and researcher in chemical engineering at the University of Natal in Durban (as it was known then). In 1989 he left the academic life to work for Karbochem, running their Process Development group from Sasolburg. In 1991 he joined Engen at the Refinery in Durban where he was the Technical Manager for 5 years before moving into strategy development for Engen in Cape Town. In July 2008 he was awarded a SA National Energy Association Education Award has also been involved in the SA chapter of the World Petroleum Council since 2000. He has held the positions of Treasurer (2002 to 2008) and is the current Chairperson. In 2010 he was appointed to the Board and the Executive Committee of the SA National Energy Association.