Korean (Rep.) Member Committee


Website: http://weckorea.org/?lang=en

The Republic of Korea National Committee aims to promote sustainable energy development in Korea (Rep.), as a part of the WEC’s energy vision. As a member of the WEC network, the organisation is committed to representing the Republic of Korea’s perspective within national, regional and global energy debates. The committee includes a variety of members to ensure that the diverse energy interests of the Republic of Korea are appropriately represented. Members of the committee are invited to attend high-level events, participate in energy-focused study groups, contribute to technical research and be a part of the global energy dialogue.

Chair: Jong-Keun Park

Mr Jong-Keun Park has been Chair of the Korean Member Committee since September 2013. He graduated from Seoul National University with a degree in Economics in 1961 and then went on to obtain a masters degree in International Economics from Washington State University in 1969. He has served as a member of the National Assembly from 1996 to 2012. Mr Park was awarded Service Merit Medal from the Korean Government in 1971 for this dedication to the 5-year Plan for the Economic Growth.

Secretary: Jung Bon Woo