Turkish Member Committee

Website: http://www.dektmk.org.tr

The Turkish National Committee of the World Energy Council (DEK-TMK) was established in 1949. The Committee is a nongovernmental civil society and presently has 265 registered members, composed of energy related industries, universities, civil societies and individual citizens. The Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources and Ministry of Environment is also a member of the Committee. The executive board of the Committee is elected by the General Assembly held each three years. Through organizing working groups, The National Committee works on critical domestic energy issues and following global energy developments, prepares reports and views to the policy makers and tries to develop a public awareness.

Chair: Alparslan Bayraktar

Alparslan Bayraktar serves as the Deputy Undersecretary of Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (MENR) of Turkey and previously served as the General Director of Foreign Affairs and the EU. Prior to joining the Ministry, Mr. Bayraktar worked as a commissioner in Energy Market Regulatory Authority of Turkey (EMRA). Before public sector, he worked in private sector in energy and information technology fields both in Turkey and the US.
Mr. Bayraktar holds positions in various international organizations involved in energy governance. He is the Chairman of Advisory Board of Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA), an organization focusing on improving energy regulation in 37 member countries and increasing access to energy regulatory experience around the world, where he previously served as the Chairman. Mr. Bayraktar was also the Chairman of International Confederation of Energy Regulators (ICER), a framework with an objective of improving cooperation between regulatory authorities to contribute sustainability targets on a global scale.
Mr. Bayraktar received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Istanbul Technical University, LLM in Law and Economics from Bilkent University and MA in International Relations from Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy at Tufts University. He is an Adjunct Faculty at Bilkent University where he teaches Energy Law and Policy.

Secretary: Izzet Alagöz

Dr İzzet Alagöz graduated from METU Electrical & Electronics Engineering, completed a study of MBA at Del Tech Community College (USA) and has a master degree in MKU Electrical & Electronics Engineering. He latest completed Ph.D. on Renewable Energy Technologies at University of EGE.
He taught at the University of 19 MAY as an Instructor about 5 years. Had involved in many industrial projects as manager of plants installation and commissioning works beside operation and maintenance responsibilities in several fields. He developed over hundred projects on industrial automation, PLC and DCS systems.
He managed 3 850 MW capacity power plants construction projects as installation and commissioning in National and International environments. Also managed 4 400 MW power plants DCS and automation new build and retrofit projects.
He is currently shareholder and Chair of Alagoz Group which has companies working on Power Plants, Water Treatment Plants, Oil and Gas and Industrial Automation fields,
He is actively Chairman of MÜSİAD (Independent Businessman Association) Energy Sector Board.