Renewable Energy Sources (RES) Systems Integration

A newly established Knowledge Network (KN) on the RES Systems integration under the leadership of Alessandro Clerici, Senior Corporate Advisor at CESI S.p.A. has been added to the PGP KN as one of its activities under the GEI umbrella. The RES KN focus on the examination and assessment of the impacts integration of volatile renewable resources has on the performance of power systems. The RES KN, in addition to its own work programme, is also expected to provide inputs into overall GEI and PGP work and will support the GEI objective to deliver critical output for the 2016 World Energy Congress and to the Council’s World Energy Leaders’ Summits/Dialogues in the years before the Congress. CESI Spa from Italy acts as Project Supporter. More specifically the RES Systems Integration KN is focusing on the following aspects:

  1. Impacts of volatile RES on electric power systems
  2. Assessment of remedial actions / tools to minimize the impact

After two meetings by teleconference, the KN has produced a set of Country Reports from over 20 countries from around the world. The findings of these Country reports will be summarized in a brief intermediate report planned for publication in the autumn of  2015.

Members of the Knowledge Network

Adam Smoliński Central Mining Institute
Alessandro Clerici CESI S.p.A.
Alexander Peschl Siemens AG
Andrew Millar Ministry for Business, Innovation and Employment
Antonelli Simone Diodato Enel Group
António Lopes Alstom Portugal
Atanda Raji Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Christian Panzer Wien Energie GmbH
Christoph Sievering Bayer MaterialScience AG
Daniele Daminelli CESI S.p.A.
Elena Nekhaev World Energy Council
Hectór Beltrán Energy Regulatory Commission
Istvan Vokony Budapest University of Technology & Economics (BME)
Jan-Horst Keppler
Jaroslav Snajdr Schneider Electric
Johannes Liedler Vienna University of Technology
Johnny Posada Universidad Autónoma de Occidente
José Nunes Regional Government of Azores
Julian Tuccillo BoreasAustral
Justyna Wardak-Bielenis PKN ORLEN S.A.
Kristian Mäkelä Wärtsilä Corporation
Luis-Martin Krämer Bofest Consul GmbH
María Virginia Echinope Ministry of Industry, Energy and Mining – Uruguay
Marian Dragomir Transelectrica SA
Maycoll Mendoza Red Eléctrica del Sur S.A.
Nuwan Dhanapala Lanka Electricity Company (PVT) Ltd
Parinya Eakponpisan Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand
Patrick Canal
Petru Emilian Miga-Papadopol Transelectrica SA
Phuwanart Choonhapran Energy Regulatory Commission of Thailand
Pradeep Chaturvedi Indian Association for the Advancement of Science
Pradit Fuangfoo Provincial Electricity Authority
Stefan Ulreich E.ON AS
Suwit Auchariyamet Thailand Institute of Scientific and Technological Research
Todor Balabanov
Udo Bachhiesl Graz University of Technology
Uros Simovic Energoprojekt Entel
Vanessa O’Connell DONG Energy A/S
Vasile Rugina ICEMENERG
Vinicius Pabon Petrobras
Wayne Kitching ARUP
Wilas Chaloeysat Metropolitan Electricity Authority – Thailand
Wilson Vasquez Empresa Eléctrica Quito (EEQ)
Yu Nagatomi The Institute of Energy Economics, Japan

For further information, contact us.

Contact the World Energy Council